top of page

Playbook for A Man's Work: Rest

REST

Quotes:

  • "Rest is not the conclusion of labor, but the recreation of power." Hilaire Belloc

  • Rest is a form of discipline and will provide order in the family.

  • "We are at our best when we are most relaxed."- Bill Murray

  • Therefore, let us strive to enter into that rest-Hebrews 4:11

  • Come to me all who are weary and I will give you Rest-Jesus

  • Our hearts are restless until they rest in you. St. Augustine

  • Wherever Jesus comes He establishes rest- Oswald Chambers

Thought:

We do not understand rest. We tend to not sleep enough, and that certainly is a type of rest, but there is another rest, a deeper rest, that the soul finds a complete peace and abiding joy in. When are lives are not going well we do not have rest. It's a sin to not rest. We justify our weekends with lots of activities and give it names such as, "recreation," or "entertainment," but that just makes us more exhausted. If you are serious about Life with Christ then you have to be serious about rest. What do we make of the statement: Your commitment to rest determines your closeness to Jesus." The more we say, "Yes," to Jesus the deeper the rest he is calling us to enter into. That is, a deeper rest with Him.

Reflect:

  • Are you allowing yourself waste time on yourself, for the sake of your health, mind, spirit? Your family needs you to do so?

  • Did Jesus rest more or work? When and how did he rest? Was it separated?

  • Am I retreating to a quiet place?

  • Do I reserve time on Sunday to relax, to re-create myself?

  • What was your moment of joy/creation/laughter/play this week?

  • What/where is "the gym" for your soul?

Play Strategy

  • What I am currently doing to rest:

  • What I can do to rest :

  • What I will do rest:

  • What methods, boundaries, tactics, and conversations do I need to have? With Whom?

  • How will it look and sound when I am resting?

Run the Play/Deliverable Due Date:

After Action Review:

  • What worked?

  • What did not work?

  • Why was there a difference?

  • What was learned?

Prayer:

The day is starting/over. I can calm down and be at peace. I can enjoy the gift of marriage and family time. Lord all of this is possible because you will the home to be a church, a government, a trinity of love. Let me enter my home as I enter Yours. May I enjoy married life and give the gift of life to my family. To give without cost, joyously, patiently, and to accept my children when they come to me. Let my words be cheerful and grace filled, quick to calm, show forth mercy and justice. Discipline my thoughts and order my words to praise the name of Fatherhood.

Related Media


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page