top of page

Giving Life


When I got off work on Friday I got home a little earlier than normal. I was given the run down from my wife on how the past few days went since school let out. She informed me that my eight year old son was being difficult, argumentative, and being a boy.

Saturday morning was no different and my wife promptly stated, "Paul, take your son and do some man things." Oddly enough, there is something exhilarating when you hear your wife say that, because what I heard was, “Go and do something dangerous and risky.”

It was encouraging to hear her say this because it was a good reminder for me to reject the notion of, “it’s easier to do it by myself.” The truth is that if I adopt that mindset, I would handicap my children’s abilities and potential. My son needed a job, he needed a project, and he needed to fill his energy with something constructive as opposed to picking on his mother, brother, and sister. I took him to the basement to learn how to shut off the water of the house, flush the pipes, and replace the whole house water filter. We then went outside to take care of garbage; then he learned how to light a match and start a fire. We talked about how to dispose of the American flag when it is worn and torn. We finished our time together by teaching him about gun safety and how to shoot a shotgun. He loved it, and better yet he was cured! My previous spitfire-cuss-of-a-kid was no longer; he was a gentleman (most of the day). Granted, he had to go to his room a few more times and an explanation was given as to why certain behaviors are not permitted, and that certain behavior expectations are required.

Parenting is hard, growing up is hard, good behaviors are hard, but aren't all healthy things?

I’m coming off this past Christmas weekend with the undeniable fact that children are owed their parent’s time, particularly their fathers. More men need more men to rally for excellence in fatherhood. We owe our children to be near us more and to do things that are dangerous, hard, risky and challenging. If we don't they will fail. Life is all those things, and to withhold my presence would be an omission on my part. When my wife says, "go do man stuff, she is saying, "Because I can't." She is right; it’s not just her job to prepare them for reality.

Theodore Roosevelt once said, "Every child has inside him an aching void for excitement and if we don't fill it with something which is exciting and interesting and good for him, he will fill it with something which is exciting and interesting and which isn't good for him."

Reading that quote this weekend reminded me of this video, you could say it is the elephant in the room (pun included) Not having a father and a father figure can ransack society and our children’s lives. If men don't fill the void then they will fill it with chaos. The world needs to be ordered, we see this with the rules of all sports, when children play make believe, at work with polices, local and federal laws and even health initiatives such as fatherhood.gov to Fathers for the Good and it’s our vocation to do so.

The success of fatherhood requires women and men to surround our children with freedoms needed to confront life's reality. When we do this, we will create prosperity, reduce crime, and poverty, and better yet make for stronger communities in our families, schools, cities, states, and country. Finally, Thank God for my wife for saying what she said, those were some powerful and truthful words I needed to hear!

On this January 2, May we invoke God's Holy Name to help us to emulate the God the Father's work in our lives, giving life to our souls, and restoring culture to our homes.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page