top of page

A Proposal for a Balanced Catholic Man


I had introduced the readers to the first blog, a blog on balance. I find myself coming back to this point in every aspect of my life. I’m always checking myself to make sure that things are all in equilibrium and that I’m not going too far astray in one area or another. I think that about my hobbies, my job, my emotions, my attitude, my relationships with friends and family, my marriage, and most importantly my faith; my Catholic faith.

I’d imagine that people would defend that and say you can’t be too crazy about your faith in the triune God and His Church. How could falling more in love with the Holy Trinity possibly be a bad thing? I don’t think it ever could be a bad thing. That’s single handedly the greatest commandment: …”to love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and all your mind” (Matthew 22:37).

This statement from Christ is essential. We must implement this in our lives. One could say, “Yeah, but isn’t that an extreme? ALL of your heart, mind, and soul?” Of course it’s not an extreme because it’s mandatory for our being. If God says we must follow and observe this, than how could it be an extreme? Immediately following that, in the verses following beginning at verse 39 and going to 40, Christ tells us, “The second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. The whole law and the prophets depend on these two commandments.” This is what is bringing me to part of what I want to mention in this article. More on this part later.

Balance is essential, and we discussed that already. This theme should be illuminated in our faith-life as Catholic men. What do I mean by that?

Within the Roman rite of the Catholic Church, we see a wide range of liturgical styles and peoples in the congregation, acts of charity and organizations designed to help others, and a wide range of individual Catholics with regard to their personalities and how they interact with the faith. I see it regularly. It’s like a spectrum.

On the one end, we have a totally disengaged Catholic who was confirmed in 8th grade, and has (maybe) gone to Mass on Christmas and Easter since then, and on the other end of the spectrum, we have the Catholic who professes the Latin Tridentine Mass as the only legitimate celebration of Mass who also bashses Pope Francis and longs for the days of Pope Benedict XVI Emeritus. Within this spectrum there are the ultra liberal Catholics who think the Church should be more progressive and congruent with our culture and ordain women into the diaconate as well as the priesthood. We’ve also got the Catholics who revere and adore the Tridentime Mass but don’t hold it any higher than the Novus Ordo. Again, a spectrum.

Is there a “right” way to be in this spectrum? Who’s to say what is too liberal or too conservative? There’s no official teaching on where to stand, and we’re all so different that we’d argue that the next guy needs to change in order to fit a certain mold we hold to be the authentic one of Catholic identity.

It is here that I would introduce balance yet again. Not so often do I encounter men (again, I address men specifically because this blog is intended to focus on Catholic masculinity) who, in my opinion, display authentic balance with regard to their faith. I know that we’ve all seen Catholics who are liberal and left wing, and we’ve also come across the Catholics who despise anything post Vatican II. Why does it seem difficult to meet Catholics who can have the reverence that pre-Vatican II is so often remembered for and at the same time, embrace the New Evangelization that is so commonly spoken about today and be a fan of Pope St. John Paul II?

I think the best Catholics are the balanced Catholics. Those who exhibit a true enthusiasm for the Good News and desire so deeply to share it with others to bring them to God and His Church, those who have a deep understanding of philosophy, apologetics, theology; a desire to learn always. Those who really know and love Scripture, those who serve others any chance they get whether that’s in an organized group within the Parish, or outside of a group and seeing someone who needs help and doing something about it. A balanced Catholic is one who loves his fellow man regardless of who they are, what they’re about, or what they may have done to hurt them. This is where the second greatest Commandment would come into play, right? Love your neighbor as yourself. This is very difficult. But guess what, Christianity isn’t about the easy way of life.

I strive to be this way and it is very difficult. It’s not easy to find the line of balance in this realm. I suggest that the best Catholic men do the same. If we don’t love, but we know everything there is to know about Canon Law, what good is that? If we are enthusiastic on the surface for our Faith, but don’t know much of anything regarding Church apologetics, how beneficial is this? The Church is profoundly rich with literature, brilliant minds, and history; we must know this and understand it. Sure, we’re all different and we all have something different to offer to the Church; that’s why God made us who we are. Bishop Robert Barron says, “Yeah, God has made a world that is radically unequal- why? Because we all got different missions!”

I’m not saying we must know the Summa Theologica by heart, and I’m not saying that we have to display false enthusiasm. What I’m saying is that our lives ought reflect the balance of and the both/and of Catholicism. Why can’t we discuss and take interest in St. Augustine’s Confessions or G.K. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy? Why can’t we be excited at the same time to share with others the salvation for man that Christ bought for us with His Body and Blood?

Let’s fall in love with Scripture and really know it. Let’s deepen our intellect by reading some of the great saints like Thomas Aquinas, Irenaeus, John Chrysostom, Augustine. Let’s love fervently like the Little Flower and share the Good News with a fiery passion like the Apostles. Let us utilize the most holy Sacraments given to us by Jesus Christ. Let’s give of ourselves tirelessly in loving service to our neighbor as Christ commanded. Let us use our talents for the Kingdom.

Gentlemen, let’s begin to embrace the both/and. Let’s embrace balance.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page