top of page

That's Why They Call It Work.

My father-in-law says in response to something negative at work by saying....'That's why they call it work." Truth told...Mic drop.


Is work enjoyable? Yes ,when we have the sense of accomplishment and recognition. Is work still enjoyable when those terms and conditions are not met? It is if we understand the idea of work and the opportunity it leads us and others to. We are co-creators in God's garden. When I grow up I want to work like God did. This also means I want to play how God plays...which, is also a creative endeavor. More on these ideas later.


It's Saturday, and I recall a quote I had memorized when I was younger, "I love work, it fascinates me, I can sit and watch it for hours." My to do list is stupid:

  • -Trim yard

  • Stain and install window trim

  • Fix mower

  • Cut trees around fence

  • Clean garage

  • Install ceiling fan

  • Touch up paint in my daughters room

  • Paint sun porch ceiling

  • Fix garage facia

  • Install three pull chain light fixtures

  • Caulk under door

  • Re screen storm doors

  • Mow raspberries

This list has the potential to cause me to act like a raging lunatic. I may, in the past have been unpleasant to be around. Lord help. I'm working on it, (pun intended) I guess you could say I feel overwhelmed. I need to get over this.


One time in the confessional I had a priest tell me that for my penance I should write my own examination of conscience. I still have that list...it's a long list. It was a great idea and I encourage you to write one that contains all the moral failings and evil tendencies you exhibit. Here is the prayer I wrote for myself in addition to the E.of C.


Lord, its (day of the week) and there are many challenges I will face.

People will irritate me, if I choose it.

My children will make me loose my patience, if I choose it.

Bless my wife in all her dealings

Bless my children and quicken their good behavior.

Let me not falter to bring your peace and goodness to all I meet.

Holy Spirit, soften my heart and bring the joy that comes from being in communion with you.

Sharpen my virtues and grant me the courage, wisdom, and strength to cooperate with you.

Jesus, bring me into the fullness of your truth and of your incarnation in your Divine Word and Holy Eucharist.

Mary, pray that I too may say yes to your word and give life to all those I encounter.

Joseph, let me father like you quite and skilled and obedient.


Amen.

Today... let us work for the sake of resting in God's easy yoke.


I share all these thoughts because today we are more committed to being overwhelmed by fear than trusting in the goodness and grace of God. I leave you with a few writings from the Compendium of Social Doctrine



273. Human work also has an intrinsic social dimension. A person's work, in fact, is naturally connected with that of other people. Today “more than ever, work is work with others and work for others. It is a matter of doing something for someone else”[589]. The fruits of work offer occasions for exchange, relationship and encounter. Work, therefore, cannot be properly evaluated if its social nature is not taken into account: “For man's productive effort cannot yield its fruits unless a truly social and organic body exists, unless a social and juridical order watches over the exercise of work, unless the various occupations, being interdependent, cooperate with and mutually complete one another, and, what is still more important, unless mind, material things, and work combine and form as it were a single whole. Therefore, where the social and individual nature of work is neglected, it will be impossible to evaluate work justly and pay it according to justice”[590].


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page